Record of the Month

I figured I’d do a monthlywhat I’m listening to’ kind of thing. This could be viewed as a lame placeholder kind of post. And probably it is. But it’s my blog! So there!

These may or may not be newly released disks. They might not even be a good disk – just what is been in heavy rotation in my car (as usually the iPod is playing anywhere else).

A little over a year ago, I made Jenny Lewis my initial Record of the Month. In that post, I fully admitted I knew nothing of Rilo Kiley, and even though I really like(d) her solo disk, I never took it the next step to go listen to an old Rilo Kiley disk.

That being said, when their new disk, Under the Black Light, came out, I thought I would try it…..reviews be damned. They were iffy at best. And I have to concur that the disk is iffy. I have nothing to compare it to – so in that way I have both the advantage and disadvantage in the review.

I think the record starts out strong for almost the first half. I like “Silver Lining”, but I really like “Close Call” and “Moneymaker” (though save one note – the main guitar riff seemingly taken directly from the Cars’ “Moving in Stereo”). Once you hit “Dejalo” there is very little reason to stick with the rest of the disk. I do not find it very strong or satisfying.

I have seen a number of articles asking if they are ‘the new Fleetwood Mac’. I’m taking from this it is because of the failed relationships inside the band – not the music. Though ironically, ‘Dreamworld’ sounds like it could be a Lindsey Buckingham song from Tango in the Night.

I don’t know exactly why the disk falls apart. Since Lewis wrote most of the songs, it could or should have been strong like Rabbit Fur Coat – so maybe it was/is the execution or production. The songs from her solo disk seemed fresh, but these do not convey that.

It is an ok disk, but not a good or a great one. It still rotates through my CD player, but that is mostly because it is new.

Leave a Reply

