Words

The Lake Superior State University’s annual List of Words Banished from the Queen’s English for Mis-Use came out yesterday…or probably the day before. But they were printed in the papers yesterday.

They are really not just words, but many are phrases (which are of course, words that are strung together) and they are as follows:

• perfect storm • Webinar • waterboarding • organic • wordsmith/wordsmithing • author/authored • post 9/11 • surge • give back • ‘blank’ is the new ‘blank’ • Black Friday • back in the day • sweet • decimate • emotional • pop • It is what it is • under the bus

I am happy to say I have never (or rarely) used these in my regular conversations. I mean, who uses ‘sweet’, when not meaning ‘too much sugar’ – unless you’re a 16-22 year old boy?

I absolutely loathe people who use the phrase, ‘it is what it is’. A former peer of mine would say it dozens of times per day. Literally. It drove me up the frickin’ wall. Another co-worker never noticed it until I pointed it out. She still curses me as now that is all she ever hears.

As Jon pointed out earlier this year, ‘webinar’ is a newer word which I guess would probably be his top pick to be banished.

The others I don’t care that much about nor do I find so annoying. There are others I can think of:

• synergy • ramp up • reach out• kudos

Yes – those are so much more worse than nails on a chalkboard to me – and worse than the ones that are on this year’s list.

What words/phrases would you choose?

Song by: the Bee Gees

Leave a Reply

