Antichrist Television Blues

Yesterday, Becky twitted that the weather today was ‘so 9/11-y’.   Of course I had to come back with a snide reply that I thought it was very 9/10-y.  But I got what she meant – at least where I was.   Downtown was blue sky and low 70s.  Not too unlike 7 years ago.

One of my work peeps has his birthday today.  That’s gotta suck.  And he’s gotta be on a plane too.   Now I don’t think that sucks too much.  And I believe that in the law of averages it won’t happen again – not like it did.  But remembering his birthday isn’t all that difficult.

Everyone remembers 9/11.  But if you were born on 12/7 – is everyone anyone associating it with Pearl Harbor?

It still kind of floors me that it has been 7 years.  It seems like yesterday.  It seems like a lifetime ago.

If you haven’t seen the Pentagon memorial, I find it kind of impressive….and a little weird.  There is a bench for everyone who died, but the benches make-up the path of the jet into the building.  A little too freaky for me.

There’s really not point to this post.  I thought I’d have one with my friend’s birthday, but it never came into focus.  I wasn’t formulating anything of significance.

Why the Arcade Fire song?  The title doesn’t lend itself to the post – but the opening verse of the song does:

I don’t wanna work in a building downtown
No I don’t wanna work in a building downtown
I don’t know what I’m gonna do
Cause the planes keep crashing always two by two
I don’t wanna work in a building downtown
No I don’t wanna see when the planes hit the ground

Freaky.  But I still like the song.


Song by:  Arcade Fire

One response to “Antichrist Television Blues

Leave a Reply

