New Year’s Eve

Another year come and gone. Where does the time go?

It’s rhetorical – don’t bother to answer.

The year was pretty good, overall.  At least nothing bad happened – at least to us.  No one died.  No one was fired.  No one got really ill.   In this day and age, sometimes that’s all you can ask for.

We will celebrate all of this by doing nothing.   Yeah – you heard me.  Nothing.

While it would be fun to go out and drink, New Year’s Eve isn’t the time to do it.  The night is for amateurs.  It is a reason to drink.   I don’t need a reason.  I never have.  Mores the pity, I guess.

In the past I’ve had some pretty fun and pretty heinous year end celebrations.  It really is ok to sit back and watch one pass without instance. At midnight, we’ll be in bed, no doubt, wondering if the noise we hear are fireworks or gun fire.  It’s a 50/50 chance where we live.   As long as no stray bullets pass through our windows, I’m sure how much I care which it is.

I will work most of the day.  I have got things to wrap up in the office. I’ve been doing it the last two weeks.  I have one more to go.  But I’ll be leaving early for the “holiday’.  I ain’t staying all day.  As it is, there is barely anyone in the office these days.  No one will notice meboogey-ing out early.   What are they gonna do if I do leave before end of day – fire me?

Anyhoo – the 31st is just a day to mark an end of some calendar year – be it Julian, Georgian of Fiscal.

Whatever you choose to do for the evening, be good, be safe.  Come back next year.

Song by: Nina Gordon

One response to “New Year’s Eve

  1. Happy new year, for reals.

Leave a Reply

